• Aircraft & Helicopters
  • Vehicles & Artillery
  • Infantry Weapons
  • Warships & Submarines
  • U.S. Military Pay
  • U.S. Military Ranks
  • Special Forces Information
  • World War 2 Weapons
  • United States Navy Ship Hull Classifications

    United States Navy Ship Hull Classifications

    The United States Navy classifies each of its surface and underwater warships through distinct identifiers.

    The following is a list of current, officially-recognized ship hull designations utilized by the United States Navy as provided through the Naval Ship Register.

    The classifications are generally representative of a given ship's role such as a Patrol Craft being "PC". Others, such as a Dock Landing Ship, are written as "LSD" and Tank Landing Ship follows as "LST". Ships like Destroyers and Frigates carry a double-letter identifier as in "DD" and "FF" respectively. To mark the change-over to nuclear-powered propulsion (from conventional power), warship types have introduced "N". For example Aircraft Carrier (originally marked as "CV") became "CVN". Nuclear-powered submarines evolved from the "SS" classification to "SSN".

    The hull classification precedes the hull number as in USS Seawolf (SSN-21).

    ACS = Auxiliary Crane Ship
    AD = Destroyer Tender
    AE = Ammunition Ship
    AFS = Combat Shore Ship
    AG = Auxiliary General
    AGDS = Deep Submergence Support Ship
    AGER = Environmental Research Ship
    AGF = Miscellaneous Command Ship
    AGM = Missile Range Instrumentation Ship
    AGOR = Oceanographic Research Ship
    AGOS = Ocean Surveillance Ship
    AGS = Survey Ship
    AGSS = Auxiliary Submarine
    AH = Hospital Ship
    AK = Cargo Ship
    AKR = Vehicle Cargo Ship
    AO = Oiler
    AOE = Fast Combat Support Ship
    AOG = Gasoline Tanker
    AOR = Replenishment Oiler
    AOT = Transport Oiler
    AP = Transport
    APD = High Speed Transport
    AR = Repair Ship
    ARC = Cable Repair Ship
    AS = Submarine Tender
    ARS = Salvage Ship
    ASR = Submarine Rescue Ship
    ATA = Auxiliary Ocean Tug
    ATF = Fleet Ocean Tug
    ATS = Salvage and Rescue Ship
    AVB = Aviation Logistics Support Ship
    AVT = Auxiliary Aircraft Landing Training Ship
    BB = Battleship
    CA = Cruiser, Armored
    CB = Cruiser, Large
    CC = Cruiser, Battle
    CL = Cruiser, Light
    CV = Cruiser, Aviation
    CG = Cruiser, Guided Missile (conventional propulsion)
    CGN = Cruiser, Guided Missile (nuclear propulsion)
    CV = Aircraft Carrier (conventional propulsion)
    CVN = Aircraft Carrier (nuclear propulsion)
    DD = Destroyer Ship
    DE = Destroyer Escort
    DDG = Destroyer, Guided Missile
    FF = Frigate
    FFG = Frigate, Guided Missile
    FFR = Frigate, Radar Picket
    FFT = Frigate For Training
    LCC = Amphibious Command Ship
    LCH - Landing Craft, Heavy
    LHA = Amphibious Assault Ship (General Purpose)
    LHD = Amphibious Assault Ship (Multi-Purpose)
    LPD = Amphibious Transport Dock
    LPH = Landing Platform, Helicopter
    LPR = High Speed Transport
    LKA = Amphibious Cargo Ship
    LSD = Landing Ship, Dock
    LSM = Landing Ship, Medium
    LST = Landing Ship, Tank
    LST(H) = Landing Ship, Tank (Hospital)
    MSO = Minesweeper, Ocean
    MCM = Mine Countermeasures Ship
    MCS = Mine Countermeasures Support Ship
    MHC = Minehunter, Coastal
    PC = Patrol Craft
    PG = Patrol Combatant
    PBL = Patrol Boat, Light
    PBR = Patrol Boat, River
    PCF = Patrol Craft, Fast (Swift Boat)
    PGH = Patrol Combatant, Hydrofoil
    PHM = Patrol, Hydrofoil, Missile
    PTF = Patrol Boat, Fast
    SS = Submarine (conventional propulsion)
    SSGN = Guided Missile Submarine (nuclear propulsion)
    SSM = Midget Submarine
    SSN = Submarine (nuclear propulsion)
    SSBN = Ballistic Missile Submarine (nuclear propulsion)
    SST = Training Submarine