Military Factory
flag of Soviet Union

122mm Model 1963 (D-30) 122mm Towed Artillery / Howitzer (1963)

Authored By Staff Writer | Last Updated: 6/13/2013

The D-30 can still be utilized as a potent battlefield artillery system.

The D-30 122mm howitzer became the standard Soviet artillery battlefield system, replacing the aging M-30 (M1938) 122mm howitzer. The original system was serving in support of motorized rifle elements equipped with the BTR series of APCs. Standard ammunition for the D-30 is the FRAG-HE and HEAT-FS rounds. Chemical rounds are also consistent with the type of ammunition available (including TNT-detonated Sarin gas).

Rocket-Assisted Projectiles (RAP) can extend the range of the weapon to that of 21,900 meters (13.6 miles). Sustained fire by a capable crew can be reached to the tune of 4-8 rounds per minute. The gun has an elevation/depression limit of +80/-7 degrees. Indirect and direct modes of fire can be achieved. The D-30 is primarily towed by the MT-LB or Ural-375 vehicles, though others are possible replacement candidates.

Text ©2003-2015 All Rights Reserved. No Reproduction Permitted. Email corrections/comments to MilitaryFactory at Gmail dot com. Material presented throughout this website is for historical and entertainment value and should not to be construed as usable for hardware restoration, maintenance or general operation. Consult manufacturers directly for such information.

Specifications for the
122mm Model 1963 (D-30)
122mm Towed Artillery / Howitzer

Country of Origin: Soviet Union
Manufacturer: Gosudarstvennoe Unitarnoe Predpriatie Zavod 9
Initial Year of Service: 1963
Production: 12,000

Focus Model: 122mm Model 1963 (D-30)
Crew: 5 - 6

Overall Length: 0.00 ft (0.00 m)
Width: 0.00 ft (0.00 m)
Height: 5.25 ft (1.60 m)
Weight: 3.5 US Short Tons (3,200 kg; 7,055 lb)

Powerplant: None. This is a towed-artillery battlefield element.

Maximum Speed: 0 mph (0 km/h)
Maximum Range: 4 miles (6 km)

NBC Protection: None
Nightvision: None

1 x 122mm gun barrel.

Dependent upon ammunition carrier.

D-30 - Base Model Designation

2A18 - GRAU designation

2A18M D-30A - Features midlife product improvements.

D-30M - Features midlife product improvements.

Saddam - Iraqi-produced Variant

D30J - Yugoslavian-produced D-30

SP-122 - Egyptian modified US M109 self-propelled gun chassis with D-30 main gun.

Type-85 - Chinese-produced self-propelled gun on the Type 85 APC chassis with D-30 main gun.

Afghanistan; Algeria; Angola; Armenia; Azerbaijan; Bangladesh; Belarus; Benin; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Cambodia; Cameroon; China; Congo; Croatia; Cuba; Egypt; Djibouti; Estonia; Finland; Macedonia; Georgia; Iran; Iraq; Kazakhstan; Kyrgyzstan; Laos; Lebanon; Libya; Madagascar; Mali; Mauritania; Mongolia; Montenegro; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Nicaragua; North Korea; Pakistan; Peru; Russia; Rwanda; Sudan; Slovakia; Serbia; Soviet Union; Syria; Takjikistan; Ukraine; Uzbekistan; Vietnam; Yemen; Zambia; Zimbabwe