Military Factory
flag of Soviet Union

ZPU-2 Towed Anti-Aircraft Gun System (1949)

Authored By Staff Writer | Last Updated: 4/5/2012

The ZPU-2 is the two-barrel version of the ZPU anti-aircraft system.

There are currently no production history notes available for the ZPU-2 Towed Anti-Aircraft Gun System. Rest assured that we are hard at work on adding more information to the Military Factory so please check back at another time down the road.

Each entry goes through a lengthy research process that produces the final write up. The write up is then complemented by appropriate imagery for the associated text through a lengthy picture hunting process. Statistics are then verified before the entry is completed in our database and posted for review.

For the interim, please consider busying yourself with another section on

Text ©2003-2014 All Rights Reserved. No Reproduction Permitted. Email corrections/comments to MilitaryFactory at Gmail dot com. Material presented throughout this website is for historical and entertainment value and should not to be construed as usable for hardware restoration, maintenance or general operation. Consult manufacturers directly for such information.
Picture of ZPU-2
View All Images (1)

Specifications for the
Towed Anti-Aircraft Gun System

Country of Origin: Soviet Union
Manufacturer: State Factories - Soviet Union / China
Initial Year of Service: 1949
Production: 20,000

Focus Model: ZPU-2
Crew: 5

Overall Length: 11.61ft (3.54m)
Width: 6.30ft (1.92m)
Height: 6.00ft (1.83m)
Weight: 0.7 US Short Tons (639kg; 1,409lbs)

Powerplant: None. This is a towed-artillery piece.

Maximum Speed: 0mph (0 km/h)
Maximum Range: 5 miles (8 km)

NBC Protection: None
Nightvision: None

2 x 14.5mm heavy machine guns

2,400 x 14.5mm ammunition

ZPU-1 - Single-barrel 14.5mm anti-aircraft machine gun; appearing in 1949.

ZPU-2 - Double-barreled version; appearing in 1949.

ZPU-4 - Four-barreled version; appearing in 1949.

Type 58 - Chinese production version of the ZPU-2

Type 56 - Chinese production version of the ZPU-4

Afghanistan; Albania; Algeria; Angola; Bangladesh; Benin; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cambodia; Cameroon; Cape Verde; Chad; China; Republic of Congo; Croatia; Cuba; Egypt; Ethiopia; Ghana; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Iran; Iraq; Israel; North Korea; Laos; Libya; Madagascar; Malawi; Mali; Malta; Mauritania; Mongolia; Morocco; Mozambique; Namibia; Nicaragua; Pakistan; Romania; Russia; Sao Tome and Principe; Seychelles; Sri Lanka; Somalia; South Africa; Sudan; Syria; Tanzania; Togo; Uganda; Vietnam; Yugoslavia; Zambia; Zaire; Zimbabwe