Military Factory
flag of Canada

de Havilland Canada DHC-3 Otter Floatplane (1953)

Authored By Staff Writer | Last Updated: 12/18/2011

Despite its 1950s origins, the DHC-3 series floatplane is still in active service today.

There are currently no production history notes available for the de Havilland Canada DHC-3 Otter Floatplane. Rest assured that we are hard at work on adding more information to the Military Factory so please check back at another time down the road.

Each entry goes through a lengthy research process that produces the final write up. The write up is then complemented by appropriate imagery for the associated text through a lengthy picture hunting process. Statistics are then verified before the entry is completed in our database and posted for review.

For the interim, please consider busying yourself with another section on

Text ©2003-2014 All Rights Reserved. No Reproduction Permitted. Email corrections/comments to MilitaryFactory at Gmail dot com.

Specifications for the
de Havilland Canada DHC-3 Otter

Focus Model: de Havilland Canada DHC-3 Otter
Country of Origin: Canada
Manufacturer: de Havilland Canada - Canada
Initial Year of Service: 1953
Production: 466

Crew: 1 + 9

Length: 41.99ft (12.8m)
Width: 58.04ft (17.69m)
Height: 12.57ft (3.83m)
Weight (Empty): 4,431lbs (2,010kg)
Weight (MTOW): 8,001lbs (3,629kg)

Powerplant: 1 x Pratt & Whitney R-1340-S1H1-G Wasp 9-cylinder, air-cooled radial piston engine developing 600 horsepower.

Maximum Speed: 160mph (257kmh; 139kts)
Maximum Range: 944miles (1,520km)
Service Ceiling: 18,799ft (5,730m; 3.6miles)
Rate-of-Climb: 850 feet per minute (259m/min)

Hardpoints: 0
Armament Suite:

DHC-3 - Base Series Designation

DHC-3-T "Turbo-Otter"






Argentina; Australia; Bangladesh; Burma; Cambodia; Canada; Chile; Colombia; Costa Rica; Ethiopia; Ghana; India; Indonesia; New Zealand; Nicaragua; Nigeria; Norway; Panama; Paraguay; Philippines; United Kingdom; United States